Call for Nominations for NAST & NSTW Awards


The National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST), the country's policy body on science and technology is now accepting nominees for the various awards it will be giving in 2011. These are:

a)  Outstanding Young Scientist (OYS) Awards;
b)  NAST Hugh Greenwood Environmental Science Award;
c)  NAST-Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Prize for Young Scientist in the Philippines (in the field of Chemistry for 2011);
d)  NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists;
e)  NAST-Lino Ed. Lim Educational Development Foundation, Inc. (LELEDFI) Award for Outstanding Research in Tropical Medicine;
f)  Outstanding Scientific Paper Awards;
g)  Outstanding Book and/or Monograph Awards;
h)  Magsaysay Future Engineers/Technologists  (MFET) Award and;
i)  Best Scientific Poster Awards.

NAST also handles the DOST National Science and Technology Week (NSTW) Awards:

a)  Outstanding Technology Commercialization (Gregorio Y. Zara Medal)
b)  Outstanding Research and Development Award for Basic Research (Eduardo A. Quisumbing Medal)
c)  Outstanding Research and Development Award for Applied Research (Julian A. Banzon Medal)
d)  Outstanding Science Administrator Award (Dioscoro L. Umali Medal)

Deadline for the submission of nominations is on 26 November 2010. For the scientific poster award, abstracts may be submitted not later than 15 January 2011.

For more information, please visit NAST's website, or you may contact them at 838-77-39/66/92 or 837-2071 ext. 2170-75.