MIMAROPA signs MOA establishing regional health research and development consortium

The newly established MIMAROPA (Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan) Health Research and Development Consortium (MHRDC), signed its Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with member institutions last November 5, 2010, at the Richmonde Hotel, Pasig City.

MHRDC's primary objective is to strengthen the system of collaboration in Region IV-B to develop and enhance the capacity of institutions within the region engaged in health research as a strategy to improve the health conditions of the people.


Major stakeholders in health research in Region IV-B recognized the need to collaborate to be able to share resources, expertise and facilities aligned with the Philippine National Health Research System (PNHRS) framework.

Dr. Jaime C. Montoya, Executive Director of PCHRD said in his message, "We have money for research, but it is not fully utilized. You have to do research which will impact on the majority of the Filipino population particularly people in the regions. We want your priorities to be in the loop. That's the only way for us to be able to fund the project."He added, "The regional health research consortia is the life and soul of the system. Without this, the PNHRS will not be worthy as now."

Dr. Juan Ma. P. Nañagas, Chair of the Structure, Organization, Monitoring & Evaluation (SOME) Committee, gave an overview of the PNHRS and the PNHRS Act that will institutionalize the PNHRS and fund for health research in the country.

Core agencies shared their commitment towards the achievement of the Consortium's goals and objectives. DOST IV-B pledged their commitment as the technical Secretariat, trustee and depository of health research funds. DOH IV-B as well as the CHED IV-B commits appropriate institutional resources and ensuring that their programs and projects are in line with the region's priority health research agenda.

The different member institutions from Region IV-B included in the MOA signing were Marinduque State College (MSC), Ospital ng Palawan (OP), Romblon State University (RSU), Palawan Polytechnic College, Inc. (PPCI), Palawan State University (PSU), Occidental Mindoro State College (OMSC), and Holy Trinity University (HTU), Romblon Provincial Hospital (RPH), Department of Science and Technology (DOST) IV-B, Department of Health-Center for Health Development (DOH-CHD) IV-B, Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) IV-B, Commission on Higher Education (CHED) IV-B, Commission on Population (POPCOM) IV-B and the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) IV-B.